Sunday, November 10, 2013

Best Batsmen by Career ICC Ratings

In this post, we use the ICC Player Ratings to attempt to rate the best batsmen in Test cricket. This post attempts to decide the best batsman of all time by calculating the average (arithmetic mean) rating of a player over his entire career.

The ICC ratings glean all their information from a standard scorecard and hence are entirely objective. The ICC ratings take into account the match conditions and quality of opponents and hence are a better measure than raw career statistics. Because the ratings takes the quality of the opposition into account, individuals who make merry against weaker opposition do not get their ratings unduly inflated. Conversely, players who perform well against stronger opposition are rewarded.

Result Summary:

  • Don Bradman, as expected tops the list as the best batsman.
  • Jack Hobbs, the leading run-scorer and century-maker in first-class cricket, comes in second.
  • Brian Lara is the first modern era player to make an appearance at third.
  • Len Hutton and Gary Sobers round off the top 5.
  • Gary Sobers has the most 900 point matches, testifying that he kept his performance up for quite a few matches.
  • Bradman has 28 900+ rating scores in only 52 matches!
  • Sangakkara is the second modern era player to make an appearance at twelfth. This scheme is not unduly benefiting modern era players who play a lot of matches and hence have high career aggregates.

Data table:

PlayerMatchesRating Average900s800s700s
D.G. Bradman52855.3728126
J.B. Hobbs61799.0014286
B.C. Lara131783.5556545
L. Hutton79781.28251723
G.S. Sobers93780.85303611
R.N. Harvey79777.7053529
H. Sutcliffe54775.4803015
I.V.A. Richards121762.74144736
E.D. Weekes48760.5261911
P.B.H. May66760.29221410
K.F. Barrington82747.2053621
K.C. Sangakkara117747.0365025
W.R. Hammond85745.4003237
Javed Miandad124743.1204153
R. Dravid164741.7905265
M.E.K. Hussey79738.4751732
R.T. Ponting168736.86174838
S.M. Gavaskar125736.5383129
A.R. Border156736.0004464
J.H. Kallis164735.0166449
K.P. Pietersen99733.0512340
S.R. Tendulkar199732.3307071
M.L. Hayden103723.2745020
A.C. Gilchrist96722.0001840
M.J. Clarke97719.0212829
W.M. Lawry67715.4501427
M.C. Cowdrey114713.3902159
G.S. Chappell87712.8701844
D.C.S. Compton78712.5932017
G.A. Headley22711.77247
D.P.M.D. Jayawardene138707.0602564
V. Sehwag104703.9402929
C.C. McDonald47700.960918
K.D. Walters74698.8831315
A.I. Kallicharran66697.030831
A.D. Nourse34695.7111310
S. Chanderpaul149695.1812841
G.C. Smith112693.830463
A.N. Cook97688.9901227
D.I. Gower117688.800752
R.B. Kanhai79688.5802231
I.J.L. Trott48686.710624
R.B. Richardson86686.2201241
G.R. Viswanath91686.1101429
C.G. Greenidge108681.910744
N.C. O'Neill42681.620019
Mohammad Yousuf90681.2161226
A.R. Morris46680.610819
A. Shrewsbury5677.80002
Younus Khan86676.9001933
M.E. Trescothick76673.530133
A.W. Greig58667.840029
C.H. Lloyd110667.290549
F.M.M. Worrell51665.390516
S.R. Waugh168664.5706320
C. Hill49664.4701015
H.W. Taylor42659.600621
A.J. Strauss100658.120030
G.P. Thorpe100656.790039
D.L. Haynes116655.390035
M.H. Richardson38653.920019
A.B. de Villiers87653.6711519
J.J. Lyons12653.00004
D.R. Martyn67652.450825
Saeed Anwar55649.110419
P.E. Richardson34648.290215
W.M. Woodfull35647.540118
M.E. Waugh128646.710038
K.J. Hughes70644.410329
G.M. Turner41644.020520
V.S. Hazare30642.800611
G. Boycott108640.950031
G. Kirsten101639.850018
A. Flower63637.9201311
W.G. Grace11636.27000
B. Mitchell42635.480021
Hanif Mohammad55635.420219
R.A. Smith62634.370312
E.R. Dexter62633.580625
R.L. Taylor50633.160026
H.M. Amla71632.5621117
V.V.S. Laxman134632.470040
Saeed Ahmed41632.460011
I.R. Bell93632.080122
A.J. Stewart133631.770047
M.A. Atherton115630.940030
C.L. Walcott44630.234135
M.J. Slater74629.920023
G.A. Gooch118629.7002020
A.L. Hassett43628.420713
M.A. Taylor104625.710019
J.L. Langer105622.150041
Zaheer Abbas78618.050125
M.P. Vaughan82616.440811
C.C. Hunte44614.050112
W. Bardsley41613.120012
T.T. Samaraweera81612.780025
B.F. Butcher44612.64005
B.C. Booth29611.28004
B. Sutcliffe42610.740010
C.D. McMillan55610.18003
M. Azharuddin99608.31004
D.C. Boon107606.480028
J.C. Adams54605.460313
D.J. Cullinan70605.200016
S.P. Fleming111605.06005
J.H. Edrich77602.420015
Mohsin Khan48601.48007
D.J. McGlew34599.71009
P.D. Collingwood68598.31003
K.S. Ranjitsinhji15594.53000
E.J. Barlow30592.50006
H.A. Gomes60591.720016
Azhar Ali31591.45008
H.H. Gibbs90591.120527
S.C. Ganguly113590.59002
R.B. Simpson62590.000105
R.C. Fredericks59589.220010
H.L. Collins19589.16002
R.G. Pollock23589.13224
R.R. Sarwan87589.10005
B.L. D'Oliveira44588.89000
I.M. Chappell75588.750223
N. Hussain96588.55008
D.B. Vengsarkar116588.460611
I.R. Redpath66588.060012
W.J. Cronje68587.54005
I.T. Botham102585.750117
W.H. Ponsford29585.14003
P.A. de Silva93585.000021
W.R. Endean28583.82001
M.D. Crowe77583.520028
G. Gambhir54583.35094
V.T. Trumper48582.830115
M.J. Prior72581.21004
C.H. Gayle98580.63005
R.M. Cowper27577.26019
B.M. Laird21576.81000
G.N. Yallop39576.51002
F.A. Iredale14576.50000
S.T. Jayasuriya110576.27008
J.B. Stollmeyer32576.13017
Salim Malik103576.110010
T.W. Graveney79574.81000
G. Pullar28574.57003
D.L. Amiss50573.940322
R.H. Catterall24573.75002
R. Abel8572.63000
F.E. Woolley64572.34001
Sadiq Mohammad41571.07003
J.H.W. Fingleton18570.39003
A.G. Prince66570.380014
D.M. Jones52567.40000
M.A. Butcher71566.07003
J.T. Tyldesley31564.39001
G.P. Howarth47562.530110
M. Leyland41562.44009
A.E. Stoddart15560.87000
M.W. Goodwin19559.79000
C.A. Pujara14559.43004
J.G. Wright82559.01001
B.A. Edgar39558.90001
D.S. Steele8558.88000
S.M. Katich56558.660111
K.R. Miller55558.49000
N.J. Astle81558.32000
G.S. Blewett46557.04000
P.R. Umrigar59556.44009
K.C. Wessels40556.10006
Asif Iqbal58555.26002
S.M. Nurse29554.38001
T.L. Goddard41553.63000
J.V. Coney52553.19001
Hon. F.S. Jackson20552.90002
A.J. Lamb79552.59000
K.R. Stackpole43552.56009
J. Darling34551.76003
S.L. Campbell52551.54000
W.A. Brown22551.27000
Wasim Raja57550.74003
P.J.L. Dujon81550.35002

  • A player takes 20 innings to start receiving full points, so players with very few innings (i.e. fewer career test matches) are at a slight disadvantage via this averaging scheme. 
  • These ratings include Test matches until 9th November 2013. 
  • Read more about ICC Ratings on their FAQ page.

No comments:

Post a Comment